Live Lovely. Love Deeply. Laugh Loudly.
 
I was born with no skin on the shins of my legs. 

You right now: "Are you serious??"
Yes, actually I am very serious! This strange and just about never heard of defect is called Criticula Aplaisia. It usually occurs on the stomach or scalp, but this time round, it was somewhere completely different. The nurses at the hospital where I was born were completely clueless to what was wrong with me. My poor parents were terrified, and the nurses made it sound like it was their fault that their child had some strange defect! So where did we go from there? None other than the incredible Sick Kids hospital. The doctor that was assigned to me knew exactly what I had the moment he saw me. And he quickly reassured my parents that what I had was only a genetic skin defect. My parents had done nothing wrong. He also said that he had never seen it occur on the legs before, let alone he has not had many, if at all any patients with the same skin defect. 

It took just over a year for my skin to heal. With special care, and many bandages, my legs have cleared up quite well. It now looks like I have had a bad accident with fire, and burnt my skin. That's often what people assume when they see the effected area of my legs up close. Sometimes it bothers me, and am embarrassed because no one else looks like me with the shiny and somewhat wrinkly looking skin. But I am also very thankful that all I have is a skin defect, and not something that could have been much worse. 

I tell you this story because I believe that we are all unique in our own way. You may not have some weird looking skin on your legs like me, but you certainly are someone special. Never, ever knock yourself down because you think you aren't good enough, aren't smart enough, or even not handsome/beautiful. You are made the way you are for a reason. We all have our weaknesses, but we have more strengths than we will ever realise. Always be yourself, and be proud of who you are! 

"I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well." - Psalm 139:14 
4/13/2013 12:54:14 pm

It's quite sad that your parents were made to feel they had done something wrong. It already would've been frightening for them to have to take you to Sick Kids hospital. They would've been full of joy at the time and more than their fair share of anxiety, but they shouldn't have had to feel guilt as well.

This is a powerful story to share, Kirsten. Thanks for doing so.

Reply
Lindsay
4/14/2013 05:40:18 am

Awe Kirsten don't worry about your legs! I never noticed your legs until about 10 months after I meet you. People can only really notice it when you mention it to them.

Reply
Casey Boe.
4/16/2013 12:45:45 am

Wow, I've never heard of that! I think it's cool, you're unique. Like Lindsay said, I don't think it's noticeable, at least I haven't noticed it. Because of an accident last year, my thumbs were burned, but it's not really noticeable... I think your story is better than mine.

Reply
Patricia
4/16/2013 07:40:59 am

I am impressed with your story, Kirsten. You are an inspiration and I admire you for your confidence. I do understand it takes a lot of courage to be confident and I understand it because I live and fight everyday to show confidence and I know it's not easy. You are so right when you say that you are thankful it is just a skin defect and nothing worse. Thank you for sharing the story with us. :)

Reply
Shannon
4/16/2013 01:29:48 pm

Wow I have never heard of that before! But really nobody's perfect. That was a very touchy feely inspiring story and I am glad you were able to share it. I don't have anything like that, just random things like how my arms are double jointed and they bend a weird way when I fully strainghten them.

Being different and weird makes life more interesting. I mean if everyone acted and looked that same it would be completely boring!

Reply
Steph M
4/24/2013 12:31:04 am

That's really inspiring actually. I often write songs about that and I find that not many people come out with their stories like you have so its hard to actually see that everyone is different and that there are others like you. We're all beautiful/handsome and we should be proud of ourselves. Thanks for sharing your story :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.